2012 Ivor Novello Nominations

BASCA – The British Academy of Songwriter, Composers, and Authors presents the annual Ivor Novello Awards for excellence in composing and songwriting.

2012 Ivor Novello Nominations

The year BASCA is celebrating 57 years of songwriting when they present the Ivor Novellos from Grosvenor House in London on May 17.


Nominations for the 2012 Ivor Novellos award songs written in 2011. The nominees are…

Best Song Muscially and Lyrically:

”Rolling in the Deep” written by Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth – performed by Adele

”Shake it Out” written by Paul Epworth, Kid Harpoon, and Florence Welch – performed by Florence + the Machine

”The A Team” written by Ed Sheeran – performed by Ed Sheeran

Best Contemporary Song:

”Promises” written by Joseph Ray, Daniel Stephens, and Alana Watson – Performed by Nero

”The Wilhelm Scream” written by James Blake and James Litherland – performed by James Blake

”Video Games” written by Lana Del rey and Justin Parker – performed by Lana Del Rey

Best Original Film Score:

”Life in a Day” composed by Harry Gregson-Williams and Matthew Herbert

”The First Grader” composed by Alex Heffes

”We Need to Talk about Kevin” composed by Jonny Greenwood

Best Television Soundtrack:

”Leonardo” composed by Mark Russell

”Page Eight” composed by Paul Englishby

”The Shadow Line” composed by Martin Phipps

Music Most Performed:

”Rolling in the Deep” written by Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth – performed by Adele

”Someone Like You” written by Adele Adkins and Dan Wilson – performed by Adele

”The Flood” written by Gary Barlow Howard Donald, Jason Orange, Mark Owen, and Robbie Williams – performed by Take That

Album Award:

”21” written by Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth – performed by Adele

”50 Word for Snow” written by Kate Bush – performed by Kate Bush

”Let England Shake” written by PJ Harvey – performed by PJ Harvey

Honouring contributions to British music, BASCA will also present awards for…

Lifetime Achievement

Outstanding Song Collection

PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music

PRS for Music Special International Award

Songwriter of the Year

The Ivors Jazz Award

The Ivors Inspiration Award

Fellowship Award

Alison Redford the Progressive Conservatives

Wildrose Party still Leads in Alberta Provincial Election – Canada


Intel Powered Smartphone XOLO X900